Those of you in Australia might remember me hyping the fuck out of Philthy Rich when Funk Or Die dropped .  He came from nowhere and popped up on my radar via this video

 

 

Dude was fresh out of prison and bought out a heavy track with matching video. Funk or Die was one of my favourite albums from 2009(?) And for a long album – 20 tracks – there’s almost no filler.

This popped up on my feed today and I can’t help but wonder how much better the new album will be seeing as he’s had time to focus on it now that he’s out of the correctional system. For the immediate future at least. That’s the problem with guys like Boosie and Philthy – rappers who live what they rap about. we end up with careers cut short by federal correctional facilities.

 

On a side note, here’s Livewire labelmate  stevie joe and a cat from SF called slo-o with some introspective shit about what it’s like pushing weight, rather than the usual bravado rappers put on.

 

